Steelers Set Roster to 53


As one of the most emotional days of the NFL calender year arrives, the Pittsburgh Steelers have reduced their roster to the mandated 53 men for the 2014 season. The Steelers parted ways with 22 players on Saturday. The Steelers can sign 10 players to their practice squad by 12 PM Eastern Sunday.

Here are the players who were cut:

The Steelers have released tight ends Rob Blanchflower, Bryce Davis and David Paulson, defensive backs Isaiah Green, Dayonne Nunley, Shaquille Richardson, and Ross Ventrone, running backs Josh Harris, Stephen Houston, defensive linemen Ethan Hemer, Josh Mauro, Roy Philon and Nick Williams, linebackers Chris Carter Howard Jones, and Dan Molls, quarterback Brendon Kay, wide receivers Derek Moye and Lanear Sampson, and offensive linemen Graham Pocic, Will Simmons and Guy Whimper.

The most surprising cuts have to be 5th round selection Shaquille Richardson who was injured the majority of the preseason, along with the cuts of Guy Whimper and Howard Jones. Whimper earned another contract the past offseason and Jones recovered two fumbles this preseason.

Players who won their position battles are wide receivers Darrius Heyward-Bey and Justin Brown. Tight end Michael Palmer. Linebackers Sean Spence and Terrance Garvin.

The Steelers have met the requirements to be ready for the 2014 season. As always, this roster is not etched in stone. If you remember last season, the Steelers signed Cody Wallace shortly after roster cuts. The front office will continue working through the rest of the season. With all of this officially behind us, who is ready for some Steelers football? Kickoff is just eight days away!

Feel free to leave a comment, thanks for reading  and stay tuned to Steelers N Stuff for more news and updates . Like us on Facebook and Share this post with Friends. Follow us on twitter @STEELERSNSTUFF  and @NFLNSTUFF.Go Steelers!

Be Sociable, Share!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *